…and they shall have their pie

November 9, 2010 at 5:00 am | Posted in little bug, Little O, SAHM | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

I am the least craft-sy person on earth. I was, however, proud of myself for this little project. Look — I made mitten-“clips” for the children. We were going to a tailgate this past Saturday, and it would be cold. The children would be wearing mittens, and I knew that the entire time, in the back of my mind, I’d be wondering if their mittens would be falling off. So I cut some pretty ribbon and stitched each end around safety pins. One end pinned to the mitten, and one to the jacket. Voila!

Of course, were I truly craft-sy I would have used material that was more elastic or hardy, and I would have used a more durable stitch. About once a year, for whatever reason (an undone hem, the strange urge to whip up a curtain panel), I wish I had a sewing machine. (Of course, if I actually had one, more likely than not I would never motivate to read the directions and it would sit forever untouched, much like the external hard drive for my computer that I bought 14 months ago.)

I wish I could say that the motivation behind this project were thrift, but really it was instant gratification. The children’s store in the lobby of my office building didn’t carry mitten-clips; if I ordered them from Amazon it would take at least three days for them to arrive and I wanted them before Saturday. Well, anyway, it made me feel like a good mom.

I do, however, admire people who are truly creative and skilled with sewing projects, e.g., my friend Sara who, with her sisters, has a fantastic blog in which they write about all their scrumptuous baking and enviable sewing and knitting and quilting. For some real talent, then, check out  Three Clever Sisters. It makes you feel very cozy.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad you are back.

  2. Thanks for the shout-out! I hope I can be as good about blogging as you have been once I go back. Right now I’m trying to figure out how I can manage to cook even the bare essentials once I go back. I had just gotten it figured out with little E…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

