Halfway there (so near and yet so far…)

April 22, 2010 at 5:00 am | Posted in little bug, Little O, SAHM | 4 Comments

I am nearly halfway through my maternity leave. Can this be possible? There are so many things I still want to do.

1. Sleep through the night. Ha!
2. Take some day trips with Little Bug to Drumlin Farm, that museum in Easton, the Children’s Museum, the Science Museum.
3. Take the children to Tim’s office for lunch.
4. Learn to play golf. (Indeed, I have visions of myself in preppy clothes swinging away with a handsome golf pro at our “club”.)
5. Get in killer shape. For me. I want triceps.
6. Get the house organized. In particular, the office and the closets. Maybe call one of those closet pros — a cheap California Closets or something.
7. Take the children to the Regal Beagle for lunch to see their Uncle Rich.
8. Go to New York City for a day.
9. Take Little Buggy to high tea at the Taj.
10. Create a new blog.
11. Write a book.
12. Figure out what to do with my life (yes, on a macro level).

All of these endeavors are somewhat compromised by the fact that #1 has not yet occurred. I remember a close friend of mine, whose son is about six months older than Little Bug, telling me a few weeks after Buggy was born just not to worry about exercise or cooking or whatever until I got my energy back. Which she promised would happen around four months. And it did. I keep reminding myself of that!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ooohh… you have a lot to get done! I remember having those high aspirations when I was out on maternity leave with Hannah. In the end, I think I managed to take her out to a few museums and to a stroller running class but that was about it. No triceps. No sleeping through the night. No organization. But that’s ok… because when else in your life can you really just do nothing except stare into your baby’s eyes?

    Oh, and I’m married to a Tim too… another similarity!

  2. I’m going to remember the four month point–I’m sure I’ll get frustrated pretty soon at the lack of energy point. Which feeds into the getting in shape point…

    Figuring out life is a tough one. If anything triggers an epiphany, promise to let me know how.

  3. I remember my goals when I was on maternity leave last time – have a solid food schedule in place and have them napping on a schedule and sleeping through the night. I started nap training at 4 months, solids around the same time (kicking into gear at 5 months) and did CIO at night at 5 months. I did not bother to assume I would exercise or do any activities. However, with only 1 coming this time and a full-time nanny my plans are more elaborate and include traveling and exercising. I hope this doesn’t mean I’ll be going back to work with a kid who still isn’t sleeping through the night. I should say that one way I got my energy back around 12 weeks was by only napping when they did in the morning. That gave me some time in the PM with household activities/planning and let me go to bed early enough I wasn’t grumpy when I had to get up in the middle of the night to feed them. I also had a nanny 8 hrs a week (2 four hour blocks) starting around that time (she’s the one who is now full time for us) but I would usually just sleep while she was here. Once I fell asleep in the Kohl’s parking lot – never made it inside. 🙂

  4. I sort of agree with your friend, sleep has to be the foundation on which all else is built. However, I think now that you put the other to do items out there you may be surprised that you make them happen. I am a big fan of baby steps- maybe you pick 1 item on the list this week and plan to see it through. The measurable items (going to one place) seem a good place to start. I have cancelled 3 appointments with a professional organizer myself, I’m sure this speaks volumes about my time management.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

