Yaaaawn…

March 23, 2010 at 9:28 am | Posted in little bug, Little O, SAHM | 6 Comments
Tags: ,

First smile at 7 weeks

Don’t let these smiling angels fool you. We are not getting a lot of sleep around here. Little Bug has decided that she wants to play the “let’s get out of bed” game for an hour or so each night. It’s absolutely hysterical for her to keep running downstairs only to have us haul her back up. I even try the Supernanny technique of waiting right outside her door to silently drag her back, but she just giggles. And, then, there is the inevitable late-night visit to our room. Because I’ve been up with the baby, Tim usually handles putting her back to bed. Last night, because Tim is away on business, I had to take her back, and she was screaming and sobbing. I know she’s cutting molars, and I do feel bad for her, but it was not fun for either of us. I bribed her to stay in bed with a Dora band-aid and a teaspoon of liquid Motrin. 

Other than our nighttime travails, however, she’s been really sweet and funny. For example: 

Yesterday morning, upon spotting a basket of folded laundry at the foot of my bed.

Buggy: Oh, are those my sockies?

Me: Yes, I just washed them.

Buggy: Oh, mommy, THANK YOU for cleaning my little sockies!

Little O is starting to sleep a bit longer, but still needs a middle-of-the-night feeding. He goes right back so sleep and so it’s not all that bad — or, it wouldn’t be bad if Little Buggy also would sleep through the night.

I’m rereading Marc Weissbluth’s Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child. Starting today everyone is getting on a new schedule. Little O will be put to nap one to two hours after waking and Little Bug is going to have an earlier bedtime.

Oh, wait, did you think this post would be interesting? Check back with me in a few days/weeks — I don’t have a lot of reserve brain capacity right now!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OMG, Weissbluth is like my sleep God. We used it on N&P for naps by 12-14 weeks and did CIO at 5 months and my kids are ROCK STAR sleepers. I re-read i tI hear it gets harder when they can climb out of bed. In fact many MOTs GATE their kids in their room. I’m sure it sounds cruel but I’m willing to go for it to avoid the middle of the night wakeups. I’m also keeping my kids in cribs until they are potty trained or climb out on their own.

  2. I thought the post was very interesting and the pictures were especially cute.

  3. My friend Sara mentioned your blog to me a couple days ago, so I’ve started reading your posts. I really like the way you write, and I can so totally relate to you in some points. I have 3 kids (7, 4 1/2 and 2 3/4) – and my youngest one (a girl) has been driving me nuts recently. She’s been having major tantrums EVERY night when I put her to bed. I really LOVED putting her to bed because the atmosphere was just so nice, but now it’s just horror. But I know from my older kids that these tantrums really WILL go away (and will come back at age 4!) – so that helps me a little bit (or maybe not). But still, sometimes I really wonder how I could think that having 1 child was hard. Probably because it’s the first child. But once you have two, it’s a lot harder. And even though many people say, the third one just goes along, this was not true for us. Especially now that I’m back at work, the juggling of all the appointments, playdates, etc has become really complicated. Oh well, I keep telling myself it’s getting less complicated once they are more independent. I fear, though, this isn’t true either, because then you start worrying what might happen to your kid when it is walking to and from school…. I’ve called the daycare at school more than once to learn that my big girl has already left (but where was she? It’s a 30-minute walk, why isn’t she home yet?). So, into the car with the 2 younger ones and look for the older one… yadda-yadda-yadda. I wish you a restful night sleep soon, and I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

  4. Don’t worry, some of us find this interesting! I can’t believe I never heard of Weissbluth before! We have a doorknob lock so we just hear E banging on the door when he is up.

  5. In defense of my youngest daughter (which is making me crazy every evening as I stated earlier) I have to say, that she also can be very cute. When I re-read your post, I realized that she is doing the “thank you, mommy, for doing this for me” thing, too. This is just sooooo cute. And I don’t know that from my other two kids. Doesn’t such a sentence make your heart melt right away?!

  6. I am just starting Weissbluth’s book and already feeling guilty. Apparently I have been putting the wee one down at least an hour later than I should be (9ish instead of 8ish). Also, the lessons I have gleaned so far from the book mean I will never see her once I go back to work.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

