Inspiration strikes

October 21, 2009 at 3:20 pm | Posted in decor, Home inspiration, the 'burbs | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

Well, hello! Did you miss me? I’ll give you a brief update on my life over the past few months, and perhaps you’ll forgive me for not posting:

  • I’m having a baby. A boy. (What?! I could have, and probably should have, written about a dozen posts on my reaction to this. But it’s sunk in. And I’m excited, although Tim and I disagree wildly on names.)
  • We bought a house. I now live in the suburbs and own a washer and dryer and a lawnmower.

I’ve been a bit too tired and somewhat overwhelmed to post regularly. Not to mention that work has picked up slightly (a leading economic indicator?), and I have a commute. But, mostly, I just lost my some of my creative fire — my desire to write and to share.

Today, I snapped out of it. Here’s why:

Etsy stool

This is a vintage footstool, covered in orange KWID fabric. I fell in love with this print a few days ago when one of the design blog regulars on my Google reader was offering a yard of it for sale at a deep discount, but I emailed her too late and it had sold. While Etsy browsing today, I stumbled across it again. I snapped it up this time. Our new home has reignited my passion for interior design, and while I’ve been saving design images from the internet and magazines for months, this was my first real purchase for the house. The stool will go in front of the fireplace in the living room, and even though I don’t have my colors for the room completely conceptualized, clearly now orange will play some role.

What do you think?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay, you’re back! The stool looks lovely, the fact that it inspired you is divine.

  2. Love it! And glad to see you back online. How else would I know what is going on with your life 😉

  3. I’m glad that foot stool told you to blog again.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

