Checking in…

December 4, 2008 at 4:33 pm | Posted in little bug, the firm, yoga | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

My week thus far:

 

I went to yoga for the third time since my “I’m committing myself to yoga” post.  It was an hour-long “sunrise yoga” (or something like that) class at this new place on Boylston Street, literally a three minute walk away. Quite convenient, except that the class was form 6:30-7:30 a.m. – again, sort of tricky when your husband needs to leave for work at 7:30.  The class was a bit more gentle than I’m used to, but I’m coming off a 10-day cold, so it was perfect.  (Otherwise, I have not exercised since the Monday before Thanksgiving.  Almost two weeks!  My body was basically rigid, so the class was nice.)

 

I “worked late” for the first time – until 9:30 p.m..  There is a whole culture of “working late,” formerly unbeknown to me, which consists of free cafeteria dinners and free cab rides home.  The free dinner starts at 7:30 p.m., and the lines are almost as long as they are at lunch. (What recession? Actually, I wonder what the crowd was like before work became somewhat slow.)  Everything – the bags of chips, Gatorades, bottles of water, cookies – is free, so theoretically you can just pillage and keep stashes of food in your desk, although I found that idea a bit unsettling (dishonest?)  I saw a few people from the tax department waiting in line for dinner, but in general, I don’t think there’s enough work for people to need to stay late all that often these days. Still, I could see how if you didn’t have a child, or a spouse/significant other, staying late a few nights a week (heck, even with a spouse/significant other) is an attractive proposition:  bill your hours, get a free dinner and a free lift home.  I knew I was going to work late in advance – part of our new work/life balance initiative at home is that each of us will stay at the office late one night a week, in the hopes of alleviating some weekend stress caused by needing to put in a few extra hours of work in addition to shopping/laundry/family time – and it did make me less anxious all day:  I knew I didn’t have to rush anything so that I could be out the door at a certain time.  Still, even working 12 hours, I think I managed to bill about 9.5 hours total.

 

My mother is visiting, which always makes me feel like the weight of the world is off my shoulders.  Below, a picture she took on her iPhone (she has one, I don’t! But I’m over it… for now…) during an excursion with the Little Bug (clearly in need of a haircut. But where? How? Suggestions welcome…)

 

ellieduck

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

