Wednesday night: this is all I’ve got

November 19, 2008 at 10:03 pm | Posted in politics, read this | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Why doesn’t Obama consider Hillary for a Supreme Court Justice? Is it such an obvious non-starter (i.e., she would never tie herself up in a lifetime appointment thereby forever eliminating a possible presidency) that no one will write about it? I emailed Maureen Dowd this morning (for real) and told her to get on it.

I pass the bar and get called for jury duty for the first time in my life. How does this work for lawyers? Can I say that my mother is a district attorney and so therefore I’ll be a bad candidate? That as someone who very recently crammed all the Mass. and Federal Rules of Evidence, along with a (now fading, admittedly) mastery of the sixth, seventh, and eighth amendments, into her little brain for the bar, I’d be too fair? Too biased? I’d actually love to serve on a jury.  But not now.  All I can think about is, “My hours!!!!!!!!”

Also: we’ve been killing mice over here in Back Bay. Glue traps, plastic garbage bag, dumpster. I’m afraid it’s actually the same mouse who escapes from the garbage bin in the basement and crawls back up here. It’s awful when they get caught in the trap and squeal. Tim is preying on my sensitive side and keeps telling me I’m killing a whole family. Someone once told me that rats and mice do not co-exist, so if you have mice, consider yourself lucky. And since I read either “Goodnight Moon” or “Goodnight Gorilla” (if you have a small child — run, do not walk and buy the latter — it’s nothing like “Goodnight Moon,” per se, but is a wonderful, new bedtime classic!) every night, and a little cute mouse figures prominently (on every page) in both, I have sort of a soft spot for them now. I just don’t like the thought of them running around the baby’s room. Would they ever crawl up in the crib? Eeeew it makes me shiver.  Now I keep thinking I see mice out of the corner of my eye, wherever I am.  Such as in a conference room at work today.  Maybe I need to lay off the caffeine.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Kate, we love Goodnight, Gorilla too. You should also check out Ten Minutes ‘Til Bedtime — It is similar and very fun.

    We had mice in our last house. Um, they poop. And their poop? It’s not so hygienic. So just think of all the things the baby could contract from mouse poop and you might not feel so bad about, uh, eradicating the family. Good luck.

    Oh, and my husband was an ADA, and he said the best answer is to say, “I can TRY to be fair, I’ll really try!” in a tone that says it is very dubious but you are very earnest. He says it ticks off judges if you are blatant in your desire to wiggle out of your duty. 😉

  2. i think that mice and rats can co-exist.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

