Inadequate goop

October 7, 2008 at 3:36 pm | Posted in celebrity obsession, read this, yoga | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

So Gwyneth Paltow now has her own website — a guide to being as fabulous as she. It’s called GOOP (a clever acronym? A congealed mess?), and you can sign up to receive Daily Candy-like emails on recipes, hotels, and I’m not sure what else yet (hopefully some decorating advice!), as this is all description she gives so far:

My life is good because I’m not passive about it. I want to nourish what is real, and I want to do it without wasting time. I love to travel, to cook, to eat, to take care of my body and mind, to work hard. I love being a mother who has had to overcome my bad qualities to be a good mother. I love being in spaces that are clean and feel nice.

Over the years I have tried lots of different things. I have made lots of mistakes. But I have figured some things out in the process and I would like to share them with you. Whether you want a good place to eat in London, some advice on where to stay in Austin, the recipe I made up this week, or some thoughts from one of my sages, GOOP is a little bit of everything that makes up my life.

Make your life good. Invest in what’s real. Cook a meal for someone you love. Pause before reacting. Clean out your space. Read something beautiful. Treat yourself to something. Go to a city you’ve never been to. Learn something new. Don’t be lazy. Workout and stick to it. GOOP. Make it great.

I’d like to do all of those things, every day.  But will subscribing to this endeavor really make anyone feel anything other than inadequate? (Such as one feels when practicing yoga next to Gwyneth for a few days?) Still, these sentiments do resonate: “I love being a mother who has had to overcome her bad qualities to be a good mother.” and “I love being in spaces that are clean and feel nice.”

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How’s about “I love being a rich and famous movie star married to a rich and famous rock star so I can spend my absurdly voluminous free time thinking about GOOP and shit”?

  2. Okay, I ‘ve been sucked in. I like the way the word “goop” hits at the back of the throat, I like Gwyneth’s hair in just about every movie she’s been in, and I love e-mail alerts that make me feel as though I am part of a world of people more fashionable and efficient than I.

  3. K — I think you’ve crafted the perfect list here about living life well. I especially like the idea of “cook[ing] a good meal for someone you love.” Nothing could be more perfect, yes?

    Michael


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

