The Juggle

September 30, 2008 at 9:13 pm | Posted in little bug, the firm | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

In front of the Women’s Memorial on Comm. Ave. this past Sunday (as I lay in bed with the room spinning around me…)

Just logging in to write a quick post, which I am vowing to do even when I think I have nothing insightful (or even interesting) to write, or no time in which to write it.  The picture above illustrates a point, which I will get to in a moment.

Week three: again, so far, so good. I really do like going to work in the morning. I’m learning so much; the work is interesting. I returned home too late to put the Little Bug to bed tonight, which made me a little sad, but it also wasn’t the end of the world. But here’s the catch: I don’t have the time or the energy to do anything else. Will I find it, eventually? Or do you just make the time, find the energy? Far too many people have written about this juggle, and I’m not trying to whine. I’m just trying to figure it out. Once I make dinner, check my work emails, eat dinner, and maybe watch some TV (OK, I suppose I could leave that out), it’s 10 p.m. And if I’m going to write on this blog, or maybe read or take a relaxing shower before bed, then it’s 10:30. And then if I’m going to work out I’m up at 5:30. And then I need caffeine and the next thing you know I have vertigo and can’t get out of bed.

Here’s one way to make it work — have a partner who is on board. Easier said than done, I realize. But that’s how my dad make it “work” (to the extent he did?) — he had my mom at home, making dinner, drawing baths. I have Tim, who rushed home tonight when I emailed him at 5:50 that I was still in a meeting that was supposed to end at 5, who put Little Buggy to bed when I didn’t get home until 7 p.m. Who last night gave her a bottle and cooked dinner while I finished an overdue memo. Who didn’t blink an eye when I was too nauseous to get out of bed on Sunday (once he realized that I wasn’t felled by the Irish Flu — calling my doctor for a prescription was probably a big clue!) and took our Little Bug on Sunday errands and, once those were done, out walking in the rain on Comm. Ave (see picture above).

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hang in there, Kate. I think just like everything else, the more you do it, the better and more efficient you will get. Eventually you won’t realize just how much you are juggling.

  2. If you figure out how to do anything other than work, eat, sleep and parent for a few hours a day, let me know. It’s been almost 2 years and I’m still wondering how to fit in exercise, reading, and all the other things that I used to consider an integral part of who I am. Of course, the little bugs do a good job at making us feel like all of that other stuff doesn’t matter much as long as we get to see them for a few hours each day.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

