Poor Sarah indeed

September 27, 2008 at 9:34 am | Posted in politics, read this | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

I just haven’t had the energy to write about Sarah Palin. A hundred pundits and bloggers — not to mention my mother and sisters — can say it better than I can. But something has been bugging me since day one, which I haven’t been able to quite articulate. Fortunately, Judith Warner, a columnist for the Times, just did in this post.

I said at the start, “They’re going to tear her apart.” They being: the Democrats and the media, of course. I thought, she doesn’t know what she’s getting into. But is that her fault? If you were the governor of a small state and were tapped to be the vice presidential candidate of a party who has never had a woman on the ticket, could you say no? (Whether or not she should have considered the effect that her campaign and the intrusive media chaos would have on her pregnant, teenage daughter is a whole other issue…I don’t know that I could have done that to my daughter during what is probably the hardest time of her young life…) It’s how I feel every time someone asks me to do something I know I don’t quite have the time or experience to do: I jump at it! I love the challenge and, of course, my ego loves that I was asked.

However, as my mother is so quick to say (before she launches into one of her Sarah Palin-induced rages…): it is unquestionably John McCain’s fault. How could he “unleash” her on us? What does this say about his judgment? And that, I think, is the bottom line.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I thought she was a bad pick, but I continue to be amazed at how poorly she has performed, especially in interviews:
    http://www.bofads.blogspot.com/2008/09/sarah-palins-miserable-performance-on.html


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

