A good start to the week

May 19, 2008 at 6:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

On day one of my week of being a stay-at-home-mom with the Little Bug (a stay-at-home-mom who still has to pay her babysitter, however, so who also will be looking for legitimate reasons to use her, e.g., going to yoga for the first time in six months, returning things at the mall, cleaning out closets and perhaps even the file cabinet and desk…), I let my baby eat her barrette.  As you may have noticed, she has crazy hair that is now down to her mouth.  So I clip it back in a cute little barrette with a little grosgrain bow.  I noticed that the “bow” part of one of them was kind of loose today.  Nevertheless, I clipped it in, and off we went to the playground, where she swung on the swings and crawled in the dirt and tried to walk and thus fell sound asleep in the stroller on the way home.  When we got home, I just plunked her in the crib, bow and all — which I never do.  I always take that bow out.  So, after a short nap, I hear her talking to herself.  I go in, and she’s standing up in the crib, chewing on the metal clip part of the bow.  I was horrified — and then even more so when I realized that the “bow” part was nowhere to be found.  I called the pediatrician.  Apparently a little grosgrain will not kill you, and I should just be “on the lookout” for it in her diaper… But I’m of course pretty shaken up that she could have swallowed the whole thing, metal and all.  And here I was thinking all day long how great this staying home thing was … which it is, as long as you don’t let your baby eat ribbon!

My list of what I hope to accomplish this week is long:  read books, read magazines, write thank you notes, file papers, see friends, cook dinners, go to cleaners, learn to sell things on Ebay, sell bookcase on Craigslist, return clothes, buy new bookshelf after selling old one on Ebay, buy new desk chair, remove all clutter, train for half-marathon on Sunday (which, after a good long run with Jen Carpenter on Saturday, I’m recommitted to running).  We’ll see how much actually gets done…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

