Post-mortem

May 7, 2008 at 8:37 am | Posted in politics | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

Our babysitter, Janet, came in the door breathless this morning. “A big, big win!” she exclaimed. “I was up until 2 a.m. watching the results!” As was Tim, who refreshed the Times homepage repeatedly, hoping for Indiana to be called before he went to bed. I am thrilled that Obama will be the Democratic nominee. As I’ve written before, he is something new for this country, and I think we need it.

However, I’m also sad. I’m sad that Hillary the candidate and Hillary the woman couldn’t do it. Not this time. And when will the next woman emerge — the woman who can actually strike the right balance between intellect, aggressiveness, and likability? A balance that is much, much more difficult for a woman on the national political stage to claim. Maybe I’m projecting the sentiments of the poem in the below post. But if a woman as smart and capable of Hillary can’t find her stride in national politics, who can? I’m happy for Obama. But much more existentially, I’m sort of depressed as well.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I agree completely– I’m happy and so hopeful about Obama, yet my heart feels heavy when I think about Clinton. I heard a woman speaking on NPR today who said Hillary is going to use the next four years (if it is McCain) or eight years (if it is Obama) to start setting the groundwork for another serious/solid campaign. It would be pretty cool to have a black man for eight years and a woman for the following eight. And perhaps somewhat poetically reflect the time line for our respective rights to vote.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

