Update #2

March 4, 2008 at 2:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I have heard that some of the most stressful events in one’s life include:  having a baby, switching jobs, moving.  Check, check, and check check.  In the past year, not only have we moved (twice), but my husband started at a new company.  A big factor in choosing the job he eventually did was that when he’s not traveling (which isn’t infrequent), he works from home.  This can be tricky:  our apartment is small, and I tend to look to him for a bit of spot-coverage. (“Can you hold the baby while I run to the bathroom/take a shower/go for a run?”)  Which isn’t really fair to him.  (In fact, I’ve been kicking around an idea for a future post that was inspired by this WSJ blog posting on whether working at home should mean more chores…) On the plus side, of course, he has no commute.  He can work a full 10-hour day and still “be home” by bathtime at 6 p.m.  We were consciously looking ahead: when I can’t make that 6 p.m. bathtime once I start at my law firm, he can.

That being said:  despite my (as yet non-existent) law firm salary, for the foreseeable future, my husband will be making more money than I.  He’s relatively senior in his field (unlike me!), and, most important, he loves his job. (And, indeed, one of the perks of his work arrangement is that he can pop out for more coffee or a soda in the middle of the day and give the baby a hug. ) To go back to my original point:  we’re very lucky we have (or have created for ourselves) a series of choices. 

Unfortunately, a 300-word column allows only a narrow sliver of commentary.  Perhaps I’ll have more opportunities to write about my lawyer-mother’s and husband’s roles as I (we!) figure out this life/work journey…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

