Valentines shmalentines

February 12, 2008 at 12:13 pm | Posted in little bug, read this, wine | Leave a comment

As a follow-up to my post on Friday on Lori Gottlieb’s Atlantic article, see this article by Tara Parker-Pope in today’s Times on how long-married (or even not-so-long married) couples can spice up their “date night.”  I have a friend with two boys under two who has a date night every Saturday.  I kind of long for a Saturday night in, emptying a bottle of wine and the DVR queue long before 10 p.m.  I’m not sure if this is a good thing:  maybe I am this article’s target audience.

Anyway, my Google reader was filled this morning with all sorts of takes on the big holiday, from the office romance to the “situation of kissing” (from, of all unlikely places, The Situationist) to an article similar to the Times article above on fitting in mini dates by smooching in the supermarket.  I’m usually pretty jaded about Valentine’s Day (stemming in large part from my annoyance that the NPR affiliates start their Valentine’s flowers fund drives in late January…), but I have to admit, having a Little Bug this year makes it a bit more fun.  She needs to send Valentine’s to all her admirers, right?  So I found myself rushing out to Paper Source on Boylston last night to buy supplies before they closed at 7.  And then actually happily making said Valentines (with a glass of Bonny Doon Le Cigar Volant nearby — more expensive than we’d usually drink on a week night, but Tim saw the screw top and assumed it was a cheap-o bottle).

Valentine’s bug

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

